Super Easy DIY Gift Idea (Part 1)

In an attempt to get in touch with my creative and thrifty side, I decided to give this DIY a shot. The materials used are inexpensive and the number of steps to creating these personalized mugs don’t even hit double digits (I promise, super easy!).  My favourite of the three mugs is definitely the mustache! But honestly, the other two mugs gave me a lot more room to doodle so I can’t complain.

6

 

Here is what you need:

1    2

1. Mug ($1.50 each from the most useful store in life, Dollarama)

2. Chalkboard spray paint (I purchased mine from Home Depot for $7.29)

3. Tape (I used scotch tape and packing tape)

4. Chalk

5. Scissors

How to make your DIY mug: 

Step 1: Tape areas you don’t wish to  paint. Mustache mug: trace out a mustache design on packing tape, cut out a stencil, and then stuck it onto the mug. Note: for the grey mug, I created the design using a paintbrush (Spray some paint onto a paper plate then dip a paintbrush into the paint to free-handing the design) 

3

Step 2: Spray an even coat using the spray can instructions. I did two coats.

4

Step 3: Let the mugs dry overnight, and then remove the tape. I had some spray paint that accidentally was sprayed onto the mug which I cleaned with a wet paper towel.

5

Step 4: Start doodling. Woohoo you’re done!

7

As promised, the DIY mugs are cute and pretty painless to make. Have fun with it!

6 thoughts on “Super Easy DIY Gift Idea (Part 1)

Leave a comment